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Call To Action
» “Call to Actions” are specific action words used to encourage the prospective customers to take some action.
» It is very important to include Call to actions in the email newsletters, so as to get an idea as what are the specific areas the prospective customers are interested in.
» Some examples of Call to Actions include “Click here to see our product demo”, “Click here to see our latest product offers” etc.
» With effective Call to actions and analytics, the chances of prospect engagement increases.
Campaign
» “Campaign” refers to a email marketing project in which marketers design a set of email messages and send them to different targeted lists of opt-in email subscribers.
» Marketers build and run campaigns at periodic intervals of time to bring awareness about their products or services.
» For successful email marketing campaigns, it is very important to understand the target audience and not to blast only self-promotional emails. The campaigns should be informative enough for the prospective customers.
CAN SPAM ACT
» The “CAN SPAM ACT” is a law enacted by the Federal Trade Commission. The law sets the rules for regulating the transmission of all commercial email messages.
» CAN SPAM stands for “Controlling the Assault of Non-Solicited Pornography and Marketing Act”.
» The CAN SPAM ACT regulation is applied to all commercial emails either sent to business e-mail accounts or to the individual consumers.
» TFor more information on CAN SPAM ACT, please visit Bureau of Consumer Protection Business Center.
CAPTCHA
» “CAPTCHA” stands for Completely Automated Public Turing Test to Tell Computers and Humans Apart.
» CAPTCHA is defined as a challenge-response testing system that is used to ensure that the desired response is generated by a human being, not by a computer.
» The CAPTCHA codes are implemented in various scenarios such as while creating new email address, while commenting in the blogs etc.
» The CAPTCHA image contains an alphabetical or numeric code for the users to match, so as to ascertain that a human user is doing the transaction.
Challenge Response
» “Challenge Response” is an automated email sent by the recipient to the sender to check whether the sender is trustworthy or a spam.
» The Challenge Response mail may ask the sender to enter a captcha code or may instruct the sender to provide certain information about them.
» After the sender puts the right response, the email is then added to the recipient’s email list.
Content
» “Content” in any particular email marketing campaign comprises of the subject line and text in the header, body and the footer of the email template.
» Impressive content along with design are vital for enhanced success rate of any particular email campaign.
» The content should be engaging enough to keep the prospective customers interested in the brand’s products or services.
» Marketers can also add call to actions to the email newsletters such as “Connect with our blog”, so as to offer other valuable content to prospects.
Conversion Rate
» “Conversion Rate” is defined as the percentage of email subscribers who respond to the call-to-actions included in the email campaigns.
» Conversion Rate is a vital parameter to measure the overall success rate of any specific email campaign.
» Depending upon the call-to-actions, the prospects take different steps such as visiting the website landing page, downloading informative materials, contacting a representative or making a purchase. Marketers calculate the overall conversion rate by carefully analyzing the different actions performed by the prospects.
Click Through Rate (CTR)
» “Click Through Rate” (CTR) is the percentage of unique individuals who have clicked on the links provided in the email newsletters.
» The higher the click-through rate, more effective is the email marketing campaign.
» There are three steps to calculate CTR:
1. [Calculate] Total Unique Link = Total no. of clicks — Number of multiple clicks.
2. [Calculate] Clicks Per Open = Total no. of unique clicks/ Total no. of emails opened.
3. [Calculate] Click Through Rate = Clicks Per Open × 100
Cost Per Thousand (CPM)
» “CPM” stands for Cost per Thousand or Cost per mille.
» CPM is defined as the price for sending 1000 email messages. For example, the calculations are done as below:
When the CPM rate set by the email service provider is $ 20, and we need to send 10,000 emails; it would cost us a total of $ 200 with per email price of $ 0.02.
» Email service providers use different CPM rates based on the volume of email campaigns.
Cost Per Click (CPC)
» “Cost Per Click” (CPC) is one of the advertising models followed by Google Adwords.
» In this advertising model, the client will only have to pay only for the number of clicks they get on their online ads. For example, if the CPC is set as $1 and the online ad is shown 1000 times but gets no click, then you don’t have to pay anything as a client. If in case, out of the 1000 times of display, the ad got clicked 10 times, then you will have to pay $1 × 10= $10.
» In other words, CPC= Total cost÷ Total No. of Clicks
» Many email marketers also follow the CPC model in their email marketing campaigns.
Cost Per Action (CPA)
» “Cost Per Action” is another online advertising model in which the payment terms are based on the actions performed on the ads.
» In other words, the costs are calculated depending upon the conversion rates obtained from the ads.
» The Cost Per Action model is quite similar to the concept of Affiliate marketing. In Affiliate marketing, the Company pays a certain amount for each action performed on the online ads.
» The cost per action model is also implemented in the email marketing campaigns.
Clicks Per Delivered
» “Clicks Per Delivered” is defined as the number of clicks divided by the total number of emails delivered to a particular inbox.
» When a subscriber clicks on a link, an image or a button; a click is recorded. The total number of clicks is calculated as the number of recipients clicking on at least one link in the email.
» This serves as an indicator of the performance of the email message.
» Low Clicks Per Delivered means not so effective emails in terms of user engagement.
Click To Open Rate (CTOR)
» “Click To Open Rate” is the percentage of individual actions taken out of the total unique email opens.
» Click To Open Rate is a measure of the content and creativity of the email campaigns.
» CTOR= Unique Clicks ÷ Unique Opens × 100
» CTOR depends upon different parameters such as type of email, industry, email segmentation and the number of links present in the email.
Click streaming
» “Clickstreaming” is an analytical process used to track and record the activities of the page visitors in the web browsers.
» The different parameters tracked in the analysis involve the page loading times, page navigation by the users, time spent on pages, actions taken on pages etc.
» Clickstream analysis can broadly be classified into traffic analysis and e-commerce analysis. Traffic analysis works at the server level and e-commerce analysis tracks the user behavior directly while the user is navigating the website.
Confirmed Opt-In
» “Confirmed Opt-In” is an email security standard meant to preserve the integrity of any person subscribing to any particular email list of a specific brand or service.
» In the Confirmed Opt-In process, the email service providers send a confirmation mail to a new subscriber to complete the subscription process. The subscriber gets the email with a link to click, so as to ascertain the identity. The email link also contains an unsubscribe link, which the subscriber can use to opt-out from the emailing list.
» Confirmed Opt-In is a standard used to secure email marketing.
Canonical Domain Name (or C Name)
» “Canonical Domain Name” or CNAME is a link name used to point a sub-domain to another hostname.
» For example, we can set up different CNAMEs for forms and surveys. If the company’s domain name is mysite.com, we can create a CNAME for forms such as forms.mysite.com or can create a CNAME for surveys such as surveys.mysite.com.
» It is necessary to check the DNS settings of your domain names prior to adding the CNAMES.
Co-Registration
» “Co-Registration” is an email marketing strategy to build email database more effectively and enhance the performance in the long term.
» A Co-Registration partnership happens between companies whose products and services are not competitive of each other but they can share the same customer base.
» For example, a real-estate Company can undertake Co-Registration with a private loan provider. In this case, the real-estate Company can share the email subscribers with the loan provider according to the predefined terms and deals.